Progress and Challenges in Teaching Lately

I wasn’t sure at the outset, but yesterday turned out to be a great day! I think part of it was remembering to take everything in stride. Shortly after I woke up, my husband informed me that he was taking off with his dad to run a bunch of errands. Sometimes when that happens, and especially on short notice, I feel a bit abandoned and lonely. I was able to keep things in perspective at that time and realize that Steve was just awake and ready to go right off. There were a lot of things on his list of things he wanted to go do and get done and I just accepted it at that.

While he was gone, I stayed busy feeding the dogs, checking out some of the products I received recently, and writing reviews. I bought some jerky type dog treats recently; they were on sale for only $1 (score!). I’ve been using them to work with Gizmo to try to hold her attention and get her to listen and not bark when someone comes home and into the house. It has been working a bit, and certainly better than nothing. Although sometimes she still runs off and up the stairs but before she is started up the steps, I am usually able to get her to turn around.

I have also started to work with Gizmo on learning to “shake”. I am using shaping to try to teach her, which means for any approximation of the desired behavior, she gets a treat. Luckily the treats that I got are easy to break up into smaller pieces. At first she seemed really puzzled as to why I was grabbing her paw but she allowed it. Now she seems to be understanding that I want to wiggle her paw after I pick it up so she is relaxing the muscles in her leg when I pick up her paw, although she still doesn’t seem to quite understand what I am doing. I don’t think she really cares much at this point because she trusts me and I am feeding her treats every time.

I started working on getting Gizmo to “shake” because for this semester’s final project in psychology, I asked my students to address behavior change by applying one of the strategies related to conditioning. I thought that this would be slightly challenging but also easy and maybe even exciting at the same time. I asked that they develop a brief proposal simply explaining what behavior (their own, a child’s, sibling’s, pet’s, etc) that they would like to try to change and why. Then they would try to move forward with their plan and simply write a few brief journal entries about what they did and the progress that they made.

There are only 2 weeks left of class. I think that many of the students haven’t started their project yet, some haven’t chosen a topic for their proposal despite it being a required assignment with a deadline that has already past, and others are scrapping their idea and going back to the drawing board. I find that many of my students are so afraid of making mistakes or performing less than perfectly that they have a hard time getting started. This week, I tried to reassure them that it was not about perfection or whether or not the behavior actually changed but that they made the attempt each time and documented their method and results. I hope that that will be enough to help them along.

I hope that my students at least attempt the project and that I don’t have to give a zero to anyone. If not, I guess this is one more thing that I will have to do my best to “take in stride”. It is not my choice on whether or not to complete the project and I have done what I can to support and encourage all of my students, the rest is really up to them

I think my biggest fear is that some won’t do it, and then will be unhappy when they receive an appropriate grade, and then take it out on me in a course survey or online review site. I hope that that sort of thing gets easier to accept. I aim to move forward and make each semester’s course better than the previous one. I am very aware that I am still learning so much about teaching and it is difficult for me to accept that I am so far less than perfect as an instructor. Everything that seems so easy in theory and on paper with it, I am finding is much more difficult to apply. Simply capturing students’ attention and maintaining their focus can be so challenging, especially with the distraction of cell phones.

I guess I could look at it as, although things are not perfect, there has been progress.

Leave a Reply

