Snow Days are Wicked Awesome #WednesdayWisdom

I have always loved snow days. When I was a young child, I loved spending the day sliding with my sister until we were half-frozen, and then going inside to enjoy some hot cocoa and cartoons while we thawed out. As I got older, I still looked forward to snow days but more so for the relief of not having to go to school and the occasional extra time needed and afforded to work on homework.

There were times that I prayed for snow days. And there was one time, when I convinced my younger brothers that “snow dances” were a real thing similar to Native American “rain dances”. I still can’t believe they bought it that dancing around in the snow in just their underwear would get us enough snow for a snow day, or perhaps they thought it was too funny to pass up. My dad was a little mad about it, and scolded my brothers to get inside. The look on their faces when I snapped a picture of their snow dance was priceless. Our family had plenty of embarrassing things on tape to tease me about, this, I thought would be my insurance for the future. I probably got scolded too, but it made me laugh too hard to care about anything else. Ironically, we did, in fact, have a snow day the next day.

There was no snow dance, or prayer for snow last night or today, but I was afforded a snow day today thanks to a local school closing. I appreciate snow days now just as ever because I still get paid since I am on a contract. I also appreciate that my husband takes care of the snow. He makes sure to shovel around my car and clean it off for me. He and his dad also work to clear the yard and clean off the deck. These pics are from our previous snowstorm.

Leave a Reply

